The TM Master Cup Series thread (NR2003)

In honour of our fallen comrade. Archive of all previous canon series across all disciplines.
Cynon

The TM Master Cup Series thread (NR2003)

Post by Cynon »

After realizing that more than just me would be interested in this series here, I decided to make a thread for it.

This series spawned after I decided that real-world NASCAR could be better, and then went around at planning what would make it perfect yet somewhat-feasible. I've been doing it since 2007, but it's 'existed' since the 1950s. It, along with its feeder categories have their own wiki. Not just American drivers participate -- a fair number of European, Japanese, and Australian drivers have taken part. The series is divided 50-50 between ovals and road courses, and of the ovals, a majority of them are short ovals.

The series is run with NASCAR Racing 2003 Season using the ASA1990 mod because I think the cars look better than the current NASCAR cars. I use entirely fictional manufacturers and mostly fictional sponsors as well in place of real-world marques. There's a simple reason for that; I like to make stuff up because it's more fun.

When I design a livery, I don't think of the sponsor, I think of what colors I want, and if I can't think of a sponsor that goes with the livery, I make one up (like the Launch Energy, Haas Manufacturing and Lynxe paintjobs). Sometimes I blatantly replace a real company with the name of a fictional one, because then I can have a bit more fun with designing the car/livery. For example, Inglesby is Ford, and Saar is Chevrolet.

The series does not require a lot of crashing in order to have drama, but sometimes drivers turn Brian Vickers/Jason Plato mode on, and avoidable collisions result in either time penalties, points penalties, or both.

Series history located here, if you're interested in that.