BBC considering not renewing F1 contract

The place for speaking your mind on current goings-on in F1
Paul Hayes

BBC considering not renewing F1 contract

Post by Paul Hayes »

http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2011/ma ... e-bbc-cuts

I work for the BBC, although nothing to do with F1 or anything related to it. I have no insider knowledge on how seriously this is being considered, but I do know that pretty much nothing is sacred at the BBC at the moment as management try and work out how to make the 20% savings they need to do.

Interesting question as to who might come in for the UK TV rights if the BBC did drop out after 2014, though. Would ITV want it back, I wonder? Channel 4 has never really been seen as a mainstream sports broadcaster, but on the other hand it did win a lot of praise for its Test Cricket coverage when it held those rights, so could possibly be a bidder - I find it hard to imagine they'd want to spend that much money, though.

So I think it could end up on Sky, which is a depressing thought.
shinji
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: BBC considering not renewing F1 contract

Post by shinji »

Paul Hayes wrote:http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2011/mar/11/wimbledon-formula-one-bbc-cuts

I work for the BBC, although nothing to do with F1 or anything related to it. I have no insider knowledge on how seriously this is being considered, but I do know that pretty much nothing is sacred at the BBC at the moment as management try and work out how to make the 20% savings they need to do.

Interesting question as to who might come in for the UK TV rights if the BBC did drop out after 2014, though. Would ITV want it back, I wonder? Channel 4 has never really been seen as a mainstream sports broadcaster, but on the other hand it did win a lot of praise for its Test Cricket coverage when it held those rights, so could possibly be a bidder - I find it hard to imagine they'd want to spend that much money, though.